And the winner of the 2012 Heisman Trophy is…

Posted in Blogroll on December 8th, 2012 by Ron Glover


The candidates (left to right): Manti Te’o, Collin Klein and Johnny Manziel,

When Robert Griffin III accepted the Heisman Trophy one year ago. USC’s junior quarterback Matt Barkley’s name was all but etched on to the 2012 edition of college football’s most revered award.

But in football — as in life — dreams are potentially interrupted and even dashed. Tonight in New York, three candidates will wait to hear one name called. A name that will be placed among college football’s immortals. Texas A&M freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel, Notre Dame senior linebacker Manti Te’o and Kansas State senior quarterback Collin Klein are each unique in their own way. This evening, one of them becomes even more rare.

Read more »